Poomsae or forms, are a systematic, prearranged sequence of Taekwondo techniques (kicks, blocks and punches) that are required for belt promotion. Each poomsae is judged based on power, precision, accuracy, balance and overall presentation. There are eight Taegeuk Poomsae and each is represented by a different Gwe, or theory.

TAEGEUK (literally Tae – ‘largeness’ and Geuk – ‘eternity’) is the name given to the red and blue circle on the Korean flag. Taegeuk represents the unity of opposites that composes the universe. Its characteristics are often described as pacifism, unity, creative spirit, future spirit, eternity, and Um and Yang (Yin and Yang). Um (earth, female – the blue lower half of the circle) and Yang (heaven, male – the red upper half) are themselves opposites in delicate balance with each one being dependent upon the other: without evil there is no good; without night there is no day; without cold there is no hot; without winter there is no summer. By maintaining the balance and harmony of these opposing forces, characteristics and elements in everyday life, we experience the Do (way or path) that is at the heart of Taekwondo.

Colour Belt (keup) Poomsae

Taegeuk 1 – Il Jang: Heaven

Taegeuk 2 – Ee Jang: Strength of Mind

Taegeuk 3 – Sam Jang: Fire

Taegeuk 4 – Sa Jang: Thunder

Taegeuk 5 – Oh Jang: Wind

Taegeuk 6 – Yuk Jang: Water

Taegeuk 7 – Chil Jang: Mountain

Taegeuk 8 – Pal Jang Earth

Black Belt (Dan) Poomsae